Archives for April 2012

Original guitarist Doug Piercy rejoins Anvil Chorus!

Thaen Rasmussen Doug PiercyAnvil Chorus guitarist Thaen Rasmussen and bassist/vocalist Aaron Zimpel have rejoined forces with former 80s classic line-up guitarist Doug Piercy (ex-Heathen). The SF bay-area guitar team of Rasmussen and Piercy was one of the greatest under the radar metal duos of the 80s. The first explosive performance of this newly reunited guitar team was back on February 24th when they played with Death Angel at Slims in San Francisco.

The group is currently working on the follow up to 2009’s phenomenal return to action, “The Killing Sun.” While this album featured original tracks written during the band’s 80s heyday, the new album will contain all newly written tracks such as Solar Flux, Blood Memory, Colossus, Moonstroke and more and promises to be another thundering release that solidly establishes the group’s return.

Watch for the long-awaited double vinyl release of “The Killing Sun” coming later in 2012!

70s rock group Stepson sign with Rockadrome


70s hard rock band Stepson have reached an agreement with Rockadrome’s Vintage label to release an album of previously unreleased 70s recordings which have been tucked away in the band’s vaults for the last 35 or so years. Stepson was a high energy heavy Detroit style bluesy hard rock band formed by ex-members of the group Touch, known for their innovative 1969 progressive rock album featuring Don Gallucci. Stepson released their sole fuzzed out, hammond laced, attitude filled album in 1974 on the ABC label before disbanding and moving on to studio work and other projects. Rockadrome have acquired 12 tracks to be released on compact disc and vinyl later in 2012. Stay tuned for more details!

Stepson: Len Fagan (drums), Bruce Hauser (bass, vocals), Jeff Hawks (lead vocals), Joey Newman (guitar, vocals)